Home for Christmas!

Miracle of miracles! I made it out of Alaska for Christmas.

Santa generously filled up a giant stocking for me. Thanks for the heated scarf and Happy Light!
Santa generously filled up a giant stocking for me. Thanks for the heated scarf and Happy Light!

Interior Alaska was plagued with major snowstorms in the week leading up to Christmas. The majority of our students’ flights had to be cancelled and rescheduled. Some flights were cancelled four days in a row. This meant that the residential staff had to work an additional four days to take care of the stranded students.

On the morning of Christmas Eve I arrived at our tiny airport to discover that my flight was delayed because of the weather. I eventually made it to Fairbanks, then to Anchorage, and then to Seattle for a lengthy layover.

I spent Christmas Eve in the Seattle airport. By this time it was 7:00 pm, and I had not eaten since breakfast. Unfortunately for me, every single restaurant or food vendor was closed for the holiday. In fact, the airport was a ghost town. I wandered the empty airport for the next 12 hours.

Modeling my dad's pajama pants. They were a bit large, so I used the drawstring to tie them around my neck.
Modeling my dad’s pajama pants. They were a bit large, so I used the drawstring to tie them around my neck.

The final leg of my journey was the flight from Seattle to Minneapolis, where I was picked up by my dad to celebrate Christmas Day! After 24 hours of sleepless travel-time I was overjoyed to be with my family.

I practically cried when I stepped outside and saw the sun. (And felt warm 20 degree air for the first time in months!)

My dad drove me to my parents’ apartment where I got to see my mom, sisters, and Mei Mei (my dear little cat) for the first time since August. As much as I love Alaska, it is psychologically refreshing to get out for a little while.

Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

