Site Envy: Finding out our permanent sites in Kosovo

The most anticipated day of Pre-Service Training is the day our permanent sites are announced.

For most Peace Corps Trainees, this day takes place during Week 8. My group, however, was able to find out our sites at the start of Week 5. (Check out my Guide to PST page for the PST schedule!) The Peace Corps staff warns us to remain flexible and not have any expectations, but that is easier said than done. After spending over a month in Kosovo and talking to the K1 volunteers, we can’t help but hope for a certain type of placement.

In case you didn’t know, the Peace Corps decides where to place volunteers within the country. Some Peace Corps countries interview trainees during PST to ask about their preferences. Not so in Kosovo. We do not get a say in the matter. Typically each volunteer is placed in a separate site, so you are on your own. In countries with more volunteers people may share their site with another PCV. Kosovo is so small that I’m sure some of us with gain site-mates next year. K1 has 23 volunteers, K2 (my group) has 36, and next year’s group will have 40 people.

The sites vary drastically. Some are remote villages up in the mountains, others are major cities with restaurants and shopping centers. The host families are another important factor. Some PCVs live in nice homes with wi-fi and hot showers. Others live in mountain shacks with squatty potties and get chased by wild dogs. Some PCVs live with large families and others are placed with a single adult. The schools we work at also vary: some are rundown with broken chalkboards, others are newly renovated with plentiful supplies. Some of us teach 6 year-olds, some teach classes at every grade level, and a few teach in secondary schools.

Even though I was trying to keep an open mind and remain flexible, I had a few specific hopes for my site:

1. A City
After living in an isolated Alaskan village for two years, I am ready to be back in a city. Living in Kamenice for the summer also made me realize how restrictive the gender roles can be in villages. Women typically are not supposed to visit cafes, so they spend almost all of their time in the home. Being in a city would give me much more freedom as a female. Unfortunately, I was warned by Peace Corps staff that 90% of us would be placed in villages.

2. Teaching High School
          Even though I was technically hired by Peace Corps as a Secondary Education Volunteer, we were told upon arrival that only a handful of us would be placed in high schools. (Check out the graphic below.) I was really hoping for an upper secondary assignment, because I prefer working with older students and most of my experience has been with teenagers.

Schools in Kosovo

3. A family without small children:
I don’t hate children, but living with a host family of adults is already exhausting. The thought of having a bunch of wild children running around my host home is enough to make me want to cry. As a woman it also is assumed that I must love taking care of children. I just don’t want to deal with that.
However, no one in my current host family speaks English because they are all over 50. My ideal future host family would have one or two kids between age 12 and 20, because a little bit of English support would go a long way.


Finally the day of Site Announcements arrived. I could hardly sleep the night before. You are, after all, finding out where you will spend two years of your life.

The staff gathered us all together and drew a rough map of Kosovo in the dirt with major cities marked by rocks. One by one they called out our names and announced our site. By the end we were all standing on the map in the approximate location of our village.

My site…  GJAKOVA.Kosovo map label

It is one of Kosovo’s major cities located near the western mountains. And guess what else? I was placed in a technical school, where I will teach 12th grade. I was so happy, I wanted to do cartwheels around the school! (Sadly I am incapable of doing a cartwheel.)

After our sites were announced we traveled to Gjilan to meet our teaching counterparts, followed by a two day teaching conference. From there we traveled on our own to our permanent sites for a three-night visit. It was both nerve-racking and incredibly exciting. (Read more about site visits here: PST in July)

My host family consists of a mom and dad in their 40s, along with their 12 and 15 year-old daughters. (And they speak some English!!) Their home is located in the city of Gjakova, just a ten minute walk from the city center and my school. (To read more about life with a host family, check out this post.)

We all returned from our site visits on Friday night, each of us with many stories to tell about our soon-to-be homes… thus producing Site Envy.

As you can imagine, it is difficult to avoid comparing our sites. And that comparison inevitable produces some jealousy. My counterpart is a confident woman in her mid-forties who speaks perfect English. Some volunteers were not so fortunate. One of the counterparts told his volunteer, “We will teach my way and we will not change the curriculum.” Yikes. A handful of people do not even have host families yet, so their site visits were spent trying to advertise themselves to the villagers in hopes of finding a home.

Kosovo PCV Map2As we stood on the map of Kosovo in the dirt, we could also look around and see which PCVs will be near us. Maybe you have a solid group of friends you’ve bonded with during PST, but now they are on the opposite side of the country. To make matters worse, the volunteer closest to you is your sworn enemy who you find unbearably annoying. (No worries, this is just hypothetical. I’m happy with the people in my region.)

Another problem is unmet expectations. Some of the volunteers who desperately wanted to teach teens have been placed with 1st-3rd graders. A couple of people who wanted tiny picturesque villages were given polluted cities. Some female volunteers were placed in ultra-conservative homes and were told that they must stay inside when they are not teaching.

The million-dollar question we were all asking after our visits was this: How did the staff decide where to place us? Some of the volunteers joked that they just throw darts at a map. I asked a few of the staff about the process and they told me that the first concern is finding a host family and matching their preferences. Most families prefer a female, hence why several guys were without sites until PST ended. Then they look at the school in the area and our experience level.

The site visits really brought home the fact that every volunteer’s service is different. Even within the tiny country of Kosovo, our experiences will vary greatly.

My advice to future volunteers is this: Imagine what your service will look like. Now take that picture and crumple it up, throw it in the trash, and then put it through the shredder just to be safe. Get excited for your service, but don’t have your heart set on any particulars. Realize you are not in control, and just make the most of whatever hand you are dealt.

In two weeks I’ll be discovering what Gjakova has in store!

9 thoughts on “Site Envy: Finding out our permanent sites in Kosovo

  1. I am so enjoying reading your blogs as your journey in Kosovo continues. What a wonderful experience you are having!! Take care. I love you.

    Like

  2. Great advice on throwing away those expectations. They, and site comparison/envy, can be quite tricky. Good luck on your future service! I look forward to reading more of your stories and adventures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

